Posted on

“What if money was no object?”

My sort-of crush/ex prom date/neighbor turned a year older today.

I greeted him on Facebook, not sure if he was in his house at that time. He replied, thanking me and confirming that he was at home.

Then I asked how his summer went, and he told me what he went through, and he asked the same question to me. I replied that we were having review classes for college entrance exams, which we would be taking this coming school year.

He asked me what course I was taking, what school I wanted to go to.

“History or broadcasting in UP,” I said, “you?”

“Anywhere in Manila’s fine,” he replied. I remember he mentioned that when we went to prom together, and I told him that, along with the fact that he also mentioned political science. 

“Yeah, but I’m not so sure myself,” he added. I was slightly shocked. Back in prom, when we were talking about college, he sounded quite certain he wanted political science.

“I’m sure you’ll know soon,” I said, not knowing the right words to say. I don’t talk to guys AT ALL, even my neighbor. Either way, I would’ve said that to someone I knew, but it still would be different coming from someone you barely know, right?

“I better know soon; if not, I’ll be lost.” 

True that. Unlike in most countries in the West, it’s a big thing for us to enter college since we couldn’t work yet; we’d only be 16 or 17 when we graduate high school. And coming from a country that’s still developing, people who have great minds and passion are needed.

“You could do something related to the Rovers.” I tried to make him a bit happier (seriously, who would think about something they weren’t sure of on their birthday?) by saying that. His dad sells Land Rovers, and they have, what, five in possession right now.

“Like what, engineering? That is way too hard for me.”

“But what DO you want to do after college? I’m curious.” 

He then proceeded to send me a link of Alan Watts’ narration (link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EAOvukfO-mU), which I saw on Zenpencils before (link: http://zenpencils.com/comic/98-alan-watts-what-if-money-was-no-object/). I liked it, and I told him that.

“Words of advice for people who don’t know what to do,” he said, “like me.”

I gave him a virtual pat on the shoulder, and at that moment, I told him I had homework. But I couldn’t exactly focus on that homework, because of that question.

What if money was no object?

Words of advice for people who don’t know what to do… like me.

For the both of us, and for everyone else in our generation, the question is no longer “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

It’s “What are you going to do after college?”

Time flies way too fast, and just as we’re beginning to explore, it seems like it’s too late.

One response to ““What if money was no object?”

  1. Pingback: Thought-Provoking question 11. | The journal of the citizen of worlds.

Leave a Reply

